apostolic · pentecostal · Uncategorized

Building A Strong Foundation

“Therefore thus saith the Lord God, behold, I lay in Zion for a foundation a stone, a tried stone, a precious corner stone, a sure foundation: he that believeth shall not make haste.” Isaiah 28:16

This past Friday I had the privilege of hearing the Rev. Joe Campetella preach at a rally in Rice, Virginia and during the altar call someone began to pray for me. A powerful prayer that resonated with me and that I have not been able to stop thinking about the past few days. This person prayed a strong foundation over me. This may not seem like such a big deal to some but to me it means everything. As someone who left the church and spent many years outside the will of God, I know all to well the dangers of not being firmly established in my faith and in my daily prayer life. Prayer is my key. It is what gives me a reason to wake up in the morning, put on a smile and get ready for the day. When I’m overwhelmed, prayer is the song that lifts my spirits and reminds me that I serve a great God. Prayer is my war cry when I’m ambushed by the enemy and bombarded by feelings of doubt and insecurity. You CAN NOT build a strong foundation in God without building a prayer life. You must have a relationship with Jesus Christ, there is not one without the other.

“Therefore whosoever heareth these sayings of mine, and doeth them, I will liken him unto a wise man, which built his house upon a rock: And the rain descended, and the floods came, and the winds blew, and beat upon that house; and it fell not: for it was founded upon a rock.” Matthew 7:24-25

Not only must I not neglect my relationship with God through prayer but I must spend time in the Word daily. I need to hear it, read it, study it and reflect on it. Not only do I need to read my Bible but I long to! I love spending time studying the scriptures and not only does it feed my soul but God uses His Word to speak to me. So many times I’ve opened my Bible without really having an idea of what to read and scriptures would leap off the pages at me that pertained to my situation and what I was feeling or going through. The answers are there if we are willing to search them out. How am I to be a soul winner if I don’t know the Word of God? I cannot expect to reach people if I have only a limited knowledge of the scriptures. I have to be able to back up my beliefs with solid Word!

“Blessed are they which do hunger and thirst after righteousness: for they shall be filled.” Matthew 5:6

Loving someone, truly loving someone, is to crave their presence and treasure their approval. To love God and have a relationship with Him is to desire to please Him. To live a life that is holy and pleasing to Him. We honor and respect Him in every way, including our bodies and outward appearance. This means I must exercise discipline in every aspect of my life! My thoughts and conversations should reflect Him as well as the way I portray myself to the world. This is why I dress modestly, when people look at me I want them to see a reflection of Christ. He must increase whereas I must decrease!

“This is the covenant that I will make with them after those days, saith the Lord, I will put my laws into their hearts, and in their minds will I write them; and their sins and iniquities will I remember no more. Now where the remission of these is, there is no more offering for sin. Having therefore, brethren, boldness to enter into the holiest by the blood of Jesus, By a new and living way, which he hath consecrated for us, through the veil, that is to say, his flesh; and having an high priest over the house of God; let us draw near with a true heart in full assurance of faith, having our hearts sprinkled from an evil conscience, and our bodies washed with pure water. Let us hold fast the profession of our faith without wavering; (for he is faithful that promised;) And let us consider one another to provoke unto love and to good works: Not forsaking the assembling of ourselves together, as the manner of some is; but exhorting one another: and so much the more, as ye see the day approaching. Hebrews 10: 16-25

We cannot effectively serve God and neglect going to church. We just can’t. Going to church is the same as plugging my phone into a power source. Its how I recharge every week. My church is the one place I can go and be surrounded by people who understand why I believe what I believe and dress the way I do. I look forward to services and being taught by the man of God.

We all have different callings placed on our lives but one thing we all have in common is a responsibility to GO. To tell the world about Jesus Christ, to reach a lost and dying world and that goal cannot be accomplished without first building a strong foundation in God. It is what will keep us and sustain us when trials and heartache come our way, it is what will make our relationships last and it is what we will pass to the next generation.

“To whom coming, as unto a living stone, disallowed indeed of men, but chosen of God and precious, Ye also as lively stones, are built up a spiritual house, an holy priesthood, to offer up spiritual sacrifices, acceptable to God by Jesus Christ.” 1 Peter 2:4-5

 

 

