apostolic · pentecostal · prodigal

A Journey Back to God

“What man of you, having an hundred sheep, if he lose one of them, doth not leave the ninety and nine in the wilderness, and go after that which is lost, until he find it? And when he hath found it, he layeth it on his shoulders, rejoicing. And when he cometh home, he collect together his friends and neighbors, saying unto them, Rejoice with me; for I have found my sheep which was lost. I say unto you, that likewise joy shall be in heaven over one sinner that repenteth, more than over ninety and nine just persons, which need no repentance.”

Luke 15: 4-7

I cannot profess to be the most skilled writer or the most versed in scripture. However, it is my hope that by sharing my journey and testimony, I can give encouragement to even one person.

Growing up, I remember thinking, “how can anyone walk away from God, from this amazing truth?” I could not fathom it. Yet, that’s exactly what I did. The more time I spent away from my youth group and church, the more I was drawn in by the group of “friends” starting to take their place. I began to adopt their mannerisms, their way of dress and their speech and in the process my relationship with God began to take a back seat to the things of this world. In the process of “finding myself” I became lost.

I ran from God for eight long years and in that time I learned just how damaging the darkness is. I turned to alcohol and drugs to fill the void I had created with my own disobedience. My heart was full of anger, bitterness and hurt. I was completely and utterly broken…and that’s when God stepped in. I found myself at an alter in an old fashioned Apostolic church, trembling in shame and conviction. That night I was refilled with the Holy Ghost and piece by bloody and bruised piece, He has restored me and made me whole.

“Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new.”

2 Corinthians 5:17

The best thing I’ve ever done was to fall in love with Jesus. Completely and madly in love with the King. The kind of all consuming love that makes my heart swell each morning when I wake and brings me to my knees throughout the day. So everyday, I will choose to serve Him and to celebrate this second chance He has given me.

“For thou, Lord, art good and ready to forgive; and plenteous in mercy unto all them that call upon thee.”

Psalms 86:5

